PDA

View Full Version : Hi I am new at this

Dusck
05-31-2006, 03:46 PM
I have read about the F-Secure Virus Information Pages : PFV-Exploit
Its were you put spyware in picture formatted things.

I was wondering, does anyone know how to put a keylogger in a picture file?

Also I was wondering, if I put a keylogger on computer A that is connceted to the internet.
Do you know if all of the files(pictures) that the keylogger on computer A has taken, be sent to COmputer B?

Thanks Please reply and help me.:)

Ezekiel
05-31-2006, 05:35 PM
The exploit you mentioned was for a vulnerability in the handling of WMF image files. By using this exploit, crackers could execute any code after a user opens a wmf image file. *But*, this exploit was discovered back in December 05 - it has been fixed now, and will not affect the majority of windows computers; only unpatched machines. So, this exploit is effectively useless, and there has been NO other vulnerabilities found in the handling of common image formats since then.

So to sum up what I said, you can only run code from inside an image file through the exploiting of windows' image handling software - and there are no 'active' vulnerabilities at the moment, thus there is no way to run code from images. This will all change when the next exploit is developed, whenever that may be.

And your second question doesn't make sense.

Do you know if all of the files(pictures) that the keylogger on computer A has taken, be sent to COmputer B?

A keylogger logs keys, not images. But what you said still doesn't mean anything.

Dusck
05-31-2006, 05:56 PM
O ok.

Well like i saw on the web, some keyloggers not only remember each key the person types, but some times takes screen shots.
So i was wondering if you could put a keylogger(that takes ss) on a computer and acsess the images from a different computer.

Ezekiel
06-01-2006, 03:45 AM
O ok.