hyperic
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: General Purpose Advice on computing/programming/hacking

General Purpose Advice on computing/programming/hacking

Ok all,

I have a basic knowledge of the interent and windows, by all means i am a pure noob - not even sure if i qualify for a script kiddy.

It started when my mate showed me prorat, since then i experimented a bit with prorat and the servers and have had a few results, but i have become more interested in computing in general.

I decided i want to learn more but the biggest question for me is; 'where do i start'?

I have read quite a few threads in rohitab and it seems that there are people on here who know loads about what i want to know! the thing is, whenever i try to start at the bottom and find basic information, i get lead astray and end up gettin confused in lots of more advanced lingo.

Some people mention learning a computer language, which sounds simpke to them but the thing is; i dont know the definition of computer language, dont know which to learn or where to start learning. I get frustrated and begin thinking, maybe its too late for me to start learning, theres too much to catch up on.

Ive been reading on pascal, apparently its a very old, basic computing language, but i am aware i could use a compiler to write a script which can spam chat lobbys with a link to my uploaded prorat server. I dont even know where to start on that, am i reading too much into it? looking in the wrong places?

What i would like is some advice from you guys who know what you are doing, about what exactly you do, how you started, and how do you think someone in my position should begin learning ect ect.

I dont want a days guide to being a hacker, im *8 so have plenty of time to study, also i do actually want to learn and am not just after a shortcut.

Your expertise would be much appreciated folks, if you could PM me or email at [email]ellis_*0@hotmail.com[/email] it would be much appreciated, cheers!