Closed Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 36
Thread: Gaining Access to Private Forum
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 14
Gaining Access to Private Forum
Hi. I want to know how to gain access to a forum that is password protected, where access is granted by the administrator. The administrator is a very immature 23-year-old woman that my 44-year-old husband and father of 3 (I am younger than he is) has become involved with. I do not want to interfere with the forum; I only want to read what she is posting to see whether he is "giving away the farm" and what his intentions are.
I tried to apply for access, going through anonymouse to disguise my IP, but access is only granted to "well-known members of the My Little Pony" community. (I told you that she was immature.
)
Anyone able to help? I just want to make sure my kids are safe and that my family remains financially secure.
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 14
*sigh*
Sorry I should have read the "banned" thread first. Apparently you don't take kindly to requests such as this. Maybe you could point me in the right direction to look?
-
Can you post the link to this forum? Maybe it's running on a vulnerable version of the software used to create it.
Also, does the forum allow many guesses on the password (10 or more)? Then you can try using a program to bruteforce the login, because it's most likely a word from the dictionary.
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 14
The forum is called www.ponylandghetto.com. I do not know how many tries you get to log in, though.
Thanks for your interest in helping. As I said, I don't want to cause trouble; just want to make sure nothing is going on that would be harmful to my kids.Last edited by Wanttoknow; 03-16-2007 at 04:57 PM.
-
Well, since the site doesn't allow new accounts to be registered, there's really nothing I can do. I also can't tell what version they are using.
They're using a software known as phpBB. This software is usually pretty secure, and they block multiple login attempts.
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 14
Well, that is something new; they were allowing registrations this morning. If you know the membernames is it possible to use a password cracker to find out one of the passwords?
-
A quick whois at my terminal gave me this information on the domain:
Just to clarify, is she Danielle Taylor? In addition, what is her forum username? Is it 'pinkjubie'?Code:Domain Name: PONYLANDGHETTO.COM Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC. Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com Name Server: NS1.PAGEMONSTER.NET Name Server: NS2.PAGEMONSTER.NET Status: clientDeleteProhibited Status: clientRenewProhibited Status: clientTransferProhibited Status: clientUpdateProhibited Updated Date: 01-nov-2006 Creation Date: 27-oct-2004 Expiration Date: 27-oct-2007 Registrant: ponylandghetto PO 349 Chandler, Oklahoma 74834 United States Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com) Domain Name: PONYLANDGHETTO.COM Created on: 27-Oct-04 Expires on: 27-Oct-07 Last Updated on: 01-Nov-06 Administrative Contact: Taylor, Danielle queenbutta@mycingular.com PO Box 349 Chandler, Oklahoma 74812 United States 8124127944 Fax -- Technical Contact: Domain Services, EV1 Servers domains@ev1servers.net 2600 SW Freeway Suite 500 Houston, Texas 77098 United States 17133337873 Fax -- 17139429332 Domain servers in listed order: NS1.PAGEMONSTER.NET NS2.PAGEMONSTER.NETLast edited by Ezekiel; 03-18-2007 at 05:17 AM.
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 14
No, she's not Danielle Tyler. That's the person who co-runs the forum--"buttah" I think the name is. The other girl lives in New Zealand but she's in NJ right now staying with my husband. I do have her real name, other boards she posts at, etc. I even know her Warcraft account name, which is where he 'picked' her up.
The board she runs and may have registered to her is called MLParena.com--another "My Little Pony" site.Last edited by Wanttoknow; 03-17-2007 at 11:10 PM.
-
Because the forums block repeated attempts at logging in, pass crackers are out of the question.
You could use multiple proxies, but that would be time consuming, and probably be useless.
@ mike - Is there anyway that I can find the version of phpBB a site is running?
-
Yes, brute forcing is out of the question.
Not that I know of; it's a sort of security by obscurity I suppose.
Looking at the whois records though, we can see that the domain was registered on 27th October 2004. Considering the fact that the site only consists of a forum, we can be quite sure that they installed the forum soon after acquiring the domain. Around this time, phpBB v2.0.9 was released (in November of 04) so the forum version is probably 2.0.9 (give or take).
If any of you were willing to, there are unlimited possibilities of getting what you want (social engineering, email spoofing, exploiting, etc.).Last edited by Ezekiel; 03-18-2007 at 05:15 AM.
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 14
If you need any information that would be unseemly for me to supply publicly, I could be reached at catofbabylon@gmail.com.
Thanks much.
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Posts
- 232
forum contents?
Here's a list of the members:
http://www.ponylandghetto.com/memberlist.php
This are regular stuff.The forum is indeed NOT accepting registrations,however,i'm one step inside so if i get in i'll send you the login
info.Also see this.............:
http://www.ponylandghetto.com/viewtopic.php?t=3895
http://www.mlparena.com/Forums/viewtopic/t=53638.htm
http://www.mlparena.com/index.php?name=gallery2
http://www.mlparena.com/index.php?name=Members_List
http://www.ponylandghetto.com/viewforum.php?
f=9&sid=86292680488409722159fde03d4ea9f9What's New in Politics? Sara Palin? Ohh Noo !!
Sign My Guestbook!
Internet security is as real as your Dreams!
-
Registered User
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Posts
- 14
Not sure this would help, but some of the women who are members of ponylandghetto.com--including the woman my husband is involved with--are also members of this site, which is not a locked site:
http://www.ponylandscatfight.com/
Maybe some of them use the same passwords?
-
Hmm.. I found this little directory in the ghetto site:
http://www.ponylandghetto.com/mods/chat/
-
Note: All actions described below were done to test security, not for malicious purposes.
It has proved impossible to determine their hosting provider. The whois records indicate that they are hosted on pagemonster.com, but that website returns a blank page. A part of the whois records gave theplanet.com its name server provider, but after talking to a theplanet.com live chat representative, I found out that the website is not hosted by them either. They wouldn't tell me if pagemonster.com is one of their resellers.
So this leaves me with no options. If someone were to attempt to get forum and website information from the ponylandghetto.com administrators or forum users, they would have needed to spoof an email from the service department of their hosting company with credible information.Last edited by Ezekiel; 03-18-2007 at 05:18 AM.





