+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    22

    I've checked Norton...

    And this same IP address keeps wanting to attack me, is it a person who's trying to hack into my computer, is it a website, or what?

    212.139.132.4,53

    And the risk is noted as "Medium"

    It's happened a lot this month, actually.

    Happened since the 11th March and before-hand, probably.

    Tried to attack me twice a day yesterday, wtf!

  2. Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Fallen_Angel View Post
    And this same IP address keeps wanting to attack me, is it a person who's trying to hack into my computer, is it a website, or what?

    212.139.132.4,53

    And the risk is noted as "Medium"

    It's happened a lot this month, actually.

    Happened since the 11th March and before-hand, probably.

    Tried to attack me twice a day yesterday, wtf!
    The hostname of that IP address is this:

    th-cache-0.ns.uk.tiscali.com

    It's a home connection in the UK. It's unlikely they can exploit your computer in any way unless you have not patched in a long time and your firewall is badly configured.

    So in other words, these attacks are probably harmless. If you're really concerned, buy yourself a router to hide your computer(s) from the Internet.

  3. Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Eat
    Posts
    1,666
    As long as you don't port forward, and you follow mike's suggestions, you're safe.

  4. Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    22
    It says Tiscali!?

    That's my internet service provider

  5. Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    232

    angel,it's like this

    The person is running a port scan in your IP range. I use to be scanned by someone in france. People just leave the program running using a scanner on ip rages from blahh blahh to blah blah.
    Heres a little info,including the ABUSE email adress

    212.139.132.4 = [ th-cache-0.ns.uk.tiscali.com ]


    (Asked whois.ripe.net:43 about 212.139.132.4)

    inetnum: 212.139.132.0 - 212.139.132.15
    netname: UK-AS9105
    descr: Tiscali UK Ltd Telehouse DNS Network
    descr: ==========================================================
    descr: Concerning abuse and spam ... mailto: abuse@uk.tiscali.com
    descr: e-mail to other addresses will not be dealt with.
    descr: ==========================================================
    country: GB
    admin-c: TU935-RIPE
    tech-c: TU935-RIPE
    status: ASSIGNED PA
    mnt-by: TU935-RIPE-MNT
    mnt-lower: TU935-RIPE-MNT
    mnt-routes: TU935-RIPE-MNT
    remarks: INFRA-AW
    source: RIPE Filtered
    role: Tiscali UK
    address: Tiscali UK Limited
    address: 20 Broadwick Street
    address: London W1F 8HT
    phone: 44 207 087 2000
    remarks: Information: http://www.tiscali.com <-- hmmm
    org: ORG-TUL3-RIPE
    admin-c: DC-RIPE
    admin-c: DG9105-RIPE
    admin-c: GD9105-RIPE
    tech-c: DC-RIPE
    nic-hdl: TU935-RIPE
    remarks: Hostmaster Role Account
    mnt-by: TU935-RIPE-MNT
    source: RIPE Filtered
    abuse-mailbox: abuse@uk.tiscali.com <--- Ta Taaa
    route: 212.139.0.0/16
    descr: Tiscali UK Limited
    origin: AS9105
    mnt-by: TU935-RIPE-MNT
    source: RIPE Filtered
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    my 2 cents
    What's New in Politics? Sara Palin? Ohh Noo !!
    Sign My Guestbook!
    Internet security is as real as your Dreams!

  6. Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    22
    How did you get that?

    And why would Tiscali do it?
    Hi

    Tiscali is the worst ISP ever.

  7. Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Fallen_Angel View Post
    How did you get that?
    You can retrieve information about any domain name using whois:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WHOIS

  8. Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    East of Happy Nonsense
    Posts
    178
    I bet $50 it's your own IP..

    Norton is stupid like that.. just tell norton not to give you warnings about it in the future..

    If it's not your IP address then don't worry about it, as Norton is successfully blocking the attack..

  9. Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    16
    Port scanning is not attack.They are every day a lot port scanning on the internet where people randomly enter ip range and then scan it for proxies, trojans etc...


    btw

    To retrieve information about ip address or domain name try this WhoIs domain tool from Ip Address Location

    Code:
     Server Used: [ whois.ripe.net ]
    
    212.139.132.4 = [ th-cache-0.ns.uk.tiscali.com ]   inetnum:        212.139.132.0 - 212.139.132.15 
      netname:        UK-AS9105 
      descr:          Tiscali UK Ltd  Telehouse DNS Network 
      descr:          ========================================================== 
      descr:          Concerning abuse and spam ... mailto: abuse@uk.tiscali.com
     
      descr:          e-mail to other addresses will not be dealt with. 
      descr:          ========================================================== 
      country:        GB 
      admin-c:         TU935-RIPE 
      tech-c:          TU935-RIPE 
      status:         ASSIGNED PA 
      mnt-by:          TU935-RIPE-MNT 
      mnt-lower:       TU935-RIPE-MNT 
      mnt-routes:      TU935-RIPE-MNT 
      remarks:        INFRA-AW 
      source:         RIPE  Filtered 
      role:           Tiscali UK 
      address:        Tiscali UK Limited 
      address:        20 Broadwick Street 
      address:        London W1F 8HT 
      phone:          +44 207 087 2000 
      remarks:        Information: http://www.tiscali.com 
      org:             ORG-TUL3-RIPE 
      admin-c:         DC-RIPE 
      admin-c:         DG9105-RIPE 
      admin-c:         GD9105-RIPE 
      tech-c:          DC-RIPE 
      nic-hdl:         TU935-RIPE 
      remarks:        Hostmaster Role Account 
      mnt-by:          TU935-RIPE-MNT 
      source:         RIPE  Filtered 
      abuse-mailbox:  abuse@uk.tiscali.com
     
      route:        212.139.0.0/16 
      descr:        Tiscali UK Limited 
      origin:       AS9105 
      mnt-by:        TU935-RIPE-MNT 
      source:       RIPE  Filtered

  10. Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    802
    some ISP's will scan their ip's to see if they are active.

  11. Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,068
    Quote Originally Posted by gordo View Post
    some ISP's will scan their ip's to see if they are active.
    I don't know what you mean by that; if you mean they port-scan to see if a particular IP address is in-use, they don't, because as soon as you connect to their service it's all logged on their systems for usage analysis and other means of spying on you. They know everything about their network; times of connection, times of disconnection and so on.

    If you mean they port-scan IP addresses to detect users hosting services from their boxes (against some terms of service of ISPs), I wouldn't doubt them doing this, but the bandwidth might be a problem for them. Most likely they would just block popular service ports (e.g. 80) to impose their 'unlimited' service rules on you; their definition of unlimited being you don't use your connection for anything other than passive Internet-use such as browsing, don't download at full speeds for longer than one minute, you don't upload at all apart from to request web pages (their crappy upload speeds take care of this), don't use BitTorrent at all, don't host anything, pretty much don't do anything interesting on the net apart from browse generic mainstream news sites, because to them unlimited is a marketing term. To them, all users downloading at max speeds 24/7 would cripple their network, because it was built under the assumption that only 1 in 10 users would actually be doing anything at any given time.
    Last edited by Ezekiel; 04-20-2007 at 06:35 PM.

  12. Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    802
    Hi Mike, you are correct, sometimes it is forbidden under the conditions of your account to have *any* kind of server online. So each user is routinely scanned for ports like HTTP,
    SMTP etc. After they discover an active server on your machine, you get
    nasty mail.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts