hyperic
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hotmail Hashes

Hotmail Hashes

Alright first of all, I'm not asking anyone to hack an account for me or offering to hack one for them...

I'm just learning about hashes, and how they work.
    I know that Hotmail never really stores the plaintext passwords, but encrypts them into hashes.
    If you click "Save my User ID and Password" while logging into Hotmail,
    then it saves the information as cookies on your computer,
    and I'm guessing that the encrypted hash is saved somewhere in the file.

One of the reasons I'm pretty sure it's saved on it is because that sidejacking works,
    and I'm going to guess everyone that's not going to spam on this thread knows what that means.

Then wouldn't it be theoretically possible for someone to hack into your computer,
    transfer than log in cookie to their computer,
    then use some hash crackers to get a shot at the hash and get the password?

I mean, with the extremely fast speed of those rainbow tables, I'm pretty sure it wouldn't even take that long to crack the password.

Can anyone tell me the flaw of this theory which I'm not understanding?

The cookie does not contain your password hash; rather it contains a session ID that is linked to your account. Someone can steal your cookie and get access to your session. You can easily log out and log back in to create a new session, if for any reason a hacker gets your cookie.
    "Workers of the world unite; you have nothing to lose but your chains." -Karl Marx

Oh, so they create a session ID that gets reset everytime you log in and log out.
    I also heard that you have to be on the same IP for the session ID to be valid.

Then that doesn't exactly work for Hotmail... but what about Yahoo! and Gmail?

I know that the cookie stealing worked for Yahoo! about *-2 years ago, has it been patched already?