server monitoring
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: computer name.

Unregistered Guest

computer name.

Hey, im a newbie. go ahead, flame me. i have windows xp. I just downloaded smartwhois and i checked my own ip address. On the screen, it showed the name of my computer. i would like to know how the hell to stop my ip from showing this information. the idea of people knowing my computers name and other info makes me kind of mad. what can i do to stop it. also, it says that "host is reachable". i logged off, and tried it again, and then it said that the host WASNT reachable. any info will be appreciated.

Re: computer name.

Hi there,

Originally posted by Unregistered
    Hey, im a newbie. go ahead, flame me. i have windows xp. I just downloaded smartwhois and i checked my own ip address. On the screen, it showed the name of my computer. i would like to know how the hell to stop my ip from showing this information. the idea of people knowing my computers name and other info makes me kind of mad. what can i do to stop it. also, it says that "host is reachable". i logged off, and tried it again, and then it said that the host WASNT reachable. any info will be appreciated.