Go Back   All Net Tools - Forum > Main > Internet Privacy
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2007, 02:53 PM
Wanttoknow Wanttoknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Gaining Access to Private Forum

Hi. I want to know how to gain access to a forum that is password protected, where access is granted by the administrator. The administrator is a very immature 23-year-old woman that my 44-year-old husband and father of 3 (I am younger than he is) has become involved with. I do not want to interfere with the forum; I only want to read what she is posting to see whether he is "giving away the farm" and what his intentions are.

I tried to apply for access, going through anonymouse to disguise my IP, but access is only granted to "well-known members of the My Little Pony" community. (I told you that she was immature. )

Anyone able to help? I just want to make sure my kids are safe and that my family remains financially secure.
  #2  
Old 03-16-2007, 02:55 PM
Wanttoknow Wanttoknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
*sigh*

Sorry I should have read the "banned" thread first. Apparently you don't take kindly to requests such as this. Maybe you could point me in the right direction to look?
  #3  
Old 03-16-2007, 05:29 PM
Moonbat's Avatar
Moonbat Moonbat is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eat
Posts: 1,660
Send a message via MSN to Moonbat
Can you post the link to this forum? Maybe it's running on a vulnerable version of the software used to create it.

Also, does the forum allow many guesses on the password (10 or more)? Then you can try using a program to bruteforce the login, because it's most likely a word from the dictionary.
  #4  
Old 03-16-2007, 05:47 PM
Wanttoknow Wanttoknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
The forum is called www.ponylandghetto.com. I do not know how many tries you get to log in, though.



Thanks for your interest in helping. As I said, I don't want to cause trouble; just want to make sure nothing is going on that would be harmful to my kids.

Last edited by Wanttoknow; 03-16-2007 at 05:57 PM.
  #5  
Old 03-16-2007, 06:17 PM
Moonbat's Avatar
Moonbat Moonbat is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eat
Posts: 1,660
Send a message via MSN to Moonbat
Well, since the site doesn't allow new accounts to be registered, there's really nothing I can do. I also can't tell what version they are using.

They're using a software known as phpBB. This software is usually pretty secure, and they block multiple login attempts.
  #6  
Old 03-16-2007, 06:57 PM
Wanttoknow Wanttoknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Well, that is something new; they were allowing registrations this morning. If you know the membernames is it possible to use a password cracker to find out one of the passwords?
  #7  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:06 PM
Ezekiel's Avatar
Ezekiel Ezekiel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanttoknow View Post
The forum is called www.ponylandghetto.com. I do not know how many tries you get to log in, though.



Thanks for your interest in helping. As I said, I don't want to cause trouble; just want to make sure nothing is going on that would be harmful to my kids.
A quick whois at my terminal gave me this information on the domain:

Code:
   Domain Name: PONYLANDGHETTO.COM
   Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
   Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
   Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
   Name Server: NS1.PAGEMONSTER.NET
   Name Server: NS2.PAGEMONSTER.NET
   Status: clientDeleteProhibited
   Status: clientRenewProhibited
   Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Status: clientUpdateProhibited
   Updated Date: 01-nov-2006
   Creation Date: 27-oct-2004
   Expiration Date: 27-oct-2007

Registrant:
   ponylandghetto
   PO 349
   Chandler, Oklahoma 74834
   United States

   Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
   Domain Name: PONYLANDGHETTO.COM
      Created on: 27-Oct-04
      Expires on: 27-Oct-07
      Last Updated on: 01-Nov-06

   Administrative Contact:
      Taylor, Danielle  queenbutta@mycingular.com
      PO Box 349
      Chandler, Oklahoma 74812
      United States
      8124127944      Fax -- 

   Technical Contact:
      Domain Services, EV1 Servers  domains@ev1servers.net
      2600 SW Freeway
      Suite 500
      Houston, Texas 77098
      United States
      17133337873      Fax -- 17139429332

   Domain servers in listed order:
      NS1.PAGEMONSTER.NET
      NS2.PAGEMONSTER.NET
Just to clarify, is she Danielle Taylor? In addition, what is her forum username? Is it 'pinkjubie'?

Last edited by Ezekiel; 03-18-2007 at 06:17 AM.
  #8  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:16 PM
Wanttoknow Wanttoknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
No, she's not Danielle Tyler. That's the person who co-runs the forum--"buttah" I think the name is. The other girl lives in New Zealand but she's in NJ right now staying with my husband. I do have her real name, other boards she posts at, etc. I even know her Warcraft account name, which is where he 'picked' her up.

The board she runs and may have registered to her is called MLParena.com--another "My Little Pony" site.

Last edited by Wanttoknow; 03-18-2007 at 12:10 AM.
  #9  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:31 PM
Moonbat's Avatar
Moonbat Moonbat is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eat
Posts: 1,660
Send a message via MSN to Moonbat
Because the forums block repeated attempts at logging in, pass crackers are out of the question.

You could use multiple proxies, but that would be time consuming, and probably be useless.

@ mike - Is there anyway that I can find the version of phpBB a site is running?
  #10  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:44 PM
Ezekiel's Avatar
Ezekiel Ezekiel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,071
Yes, brute forcing is out of the question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonbat View Post
@ mike - Is there anyway that I can find the version of phpBB a site is running?
Not that I know of; it's a sort of security by obscurity I suppose.

Looking at the whois records though, we can see that the domain was registered on 27th October 2004. Considering the fact that the site only consists of a forum, we can be quite sure that they installed the forum soon after acquiring the domain. Around this time, phpBB v2.0.9 was released (in November of 04) so the forum version is probably 2.0.9 (give or take).

If any of you were willing to, there are unlimited possibilities of getting what you want (social engineering, email spoofing, exploiting, etc.).

Last edited by Ezekiel; 03-18-2007 at 06:15 AM.
  #11  
Old 03-16-2007, 08:09 PM
Wanttoknow Wanttoknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
If you need any information that would be unseemly for me to supply publicly, I could be reached at catofbabylon@gmail.com.

Thanks much.
  #12  
Old 03-16-2007, 09:31 PM
nozf3r4tu nozf3r4tu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 223
forum contents?

Here's a list of the members:
http://www.ponylandghetto.com/memberlist.php
This are regular stuff.The forum is indeed NOT accepting registrations,however,i'm one step inside so if i get in i'll send you the login
info.Also see this.............:

http://www.ponylandghetto.com/viewtopic.php?t=3895

http://www.mlparena.com/Forums/viewtopic/t=53638.htm

http://www.mlparena.com/index.php?name=gallery2

http://www.mlparena.com/index.php?name=Members_List

http://www.ponylandghetto.com/viewforum.php?
f=9&sid=86292680488409722159fde03d4ea9f9
__________________
What's New in Politics? Washington Scandals!
Sign My Guestbook!
Internet security is as real as your Dreams!
  #13  
Old 03-16-2007, 10:20 PM
Wanttoknow Wanttoknow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Not sure this would help, but some of the women who are members of ponylandghetto.com--including the woman my husband is involved with--are also members of this site, which is not a locked site:

http://www.ponylandscatfight.com/

Maybe some of them use the same passwords?
  #14  
Old 03-16-2007, 10:22 PM
Moonbat's Avatar
Moonbat Moonbat is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eat
Posts: 1,660
Send a message via MSN to Moonbat
Hmm.. I found this little directory in the ghetto site:

http://www.ponylandghetto.com/mods/chat/
  #15  
Old 03-17-2007, 08:59 AM
Ezekiel's Avatar
Ezekiel Ezekiel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,071
Note: All actions described below were done to test security, not for malicious purposes.

It has proved impossible to determine their hosting provider. The whois records indicate that they are hosted on pagemonster.com, but that website returns a blank page. A part of the whois records gave theplanet.com its name server provider, but after talking to a theplanet.com live chat representative, I found out that the website is not hosted by them either. They wouldn't tell me if pagemonster.com is one of their resellers.

So this leaves me with no options. If someone were to attempt to get forum and website information from the ponylandghetto.com administrators or forum users, they would have needed to spoof an email from the service department of their hosting company with credible information.

Last edited by Ezekiel; 03-18-2007 at 06:18 AM.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.