Go Back   All Net Tools - Forum > Main > Internet Privacy
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2007, 04:17 PM
Fallen_Angel Fallen_Angel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 22
I've checked Norton...

And this same IP address keeps wanting to attack me, is it a person who's trying to hack into my computer, is it a website, or what?

212.139.132.4,53

And the risk is noted as "Medium"

It's happened a lot this month, actually.

Happened since the 11th March and before-hand, probably.

Tried to attack me twice a day yesterday, wtf!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2007, 05:13 PM
Ezekiel's Avatar
Ezekiel Ezekiel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen_Angel View Post
And this same IP address keeps wanting to attack me, is it a person who's trying to hack into my computer, is it a website, or what?

212.139.132.4,53

And the risk is noted as "Medium"

It's happened a lot this month, actually.

Happened since the 11th March and before-hand, probably.

Tried to attack me twice a day yesterday, wtf!
The hostname of that IP address is this:

th-cache-0.ns.uk.tiscali.com

It's a home connection in the UK. It's unlikely they can exploit your computer in any way unless you have not patched in a long time and your firewall is badly configured.

So in other words, these attacks are probably harmless. If you're really concerned, buy yourself a router to hide your computer(s) from the Internet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2007, 05:17 PM
Moonbat's Avatar
Moonbat Moonbat is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eat
Posts: 1,660
Send a message via MSN to Moonbat
As long as you don't port forward, and you follow mike's suggestions, you're safe.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2007, 12:08 PM
Fallen_Angel Fallen_Angel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 22
It says Tiscali!?

That's my internet service provider
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2007, 06:28 PM
nozf3r4tu nozf3r4tu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 223
angel,it's like this

The person is running a port scan in your IP range. I use to be scanned by someone in france. People just leave the program running using a scanner on ip rages from blahh blahh to blah blah.
Heres a little info,including the ABUSE email adress

212.139.132.4 = [ th-cache-0.ns.uk.tiscali.com ]


(Asked whois.ripe.net:43 about 212.139.132.4)

inetnum: 212.139.132.0 - 212.139.132.15
netname: UK-AS9105
descr: Tiscali UK Ltd Telehouse DNS Network
descr: ==========================================================
descr: Concerning abuse and spam ... mailto: abuse@uk.tiscali.com
descr: e-mail to other addresses will not be dealt with.
descr: ==========================================================
country: GB
admin-c: TU935-RIPE
tech-c: TU935-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PA
mnt-by: TU935-RIPE-MNT
mnt-lower: TU935-RIPE-MNT
mnt-routes: TU935-RIPE-MNT
remarks: INFRA-AW
source: RIPE Filtered
role: Tiscali UK
address: Tiscali UK Limited
address: 20 Broadwick Street
address: London W1F 8HT
phone: 44 207 087 2000
remarks: Information: http://www.tiscali.com <-- hmmm
org: ORG-TUL3-RIPE
admin-c: DC-RIPE
admin-c: DG9105-RIPE
admin-c: GD9105-RIPE
tech-c: DC-RIPE
nic-hdl: TU935-RIPE
remarks: Hostmaster Role Account
mnt-by: TU935-RIPE-MNT
source: RIPE Filtered
abuse-mailbox: abuse@uk.tiscali.com <--- Ta Taaa
route: 212.139.0.0/16
descr: Tiscali UK Limited
origin: AS9105
mnt-by: TU935-RIPE-MNT
source: RIPE Filtered
------------------------------------------------------------------------
my 2 cents
__________________
What's New in Politics? Washington Scandals!
Sign My Guestbook!
Internet security is as real as your Dreams!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2007, 11:27 AM
Fallen_Angel Fallen_Angel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 22
How did you get that?

And why would Tiscali do it?
__________________
Hi

Tiscali is the worst ISP ever.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2007, 01:44 PM
Ezekiel's Avatar
Ezekiel Ezekiel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen_Angel View Post
How did you get that?
You can retrieve information about any domain name using whois:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WHOIS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2007, 03:28 PM
Troll Troll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East of Happy Nonsense
Posts: 178
I bet $50 it's your own IP..

Norton is stupid like that.. just tell norton not to give you warnings about it in the future..

If it's not your IP address then don't worry about it, as Norton is successfully blocking the attack..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2007, 10:28 AM
Make Make is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Port scanning is not attack.They are every day a lot port scanning on the internet where people randomly enter ip range and then scan it for proxies, trojans etc...


btw

To retrieve information about ip address or domain name try this WhoIs domain tool from Ip Address Location

Code:
 Server Used: [ whois.ripe.net ]

212.139.132.4 = [ th-cache-0.ns.uk.tiscali.com ]   inetnum:        212.139.132.0 - 212.139.132.15 
  netname:        UK-AS9105 
  descr:          Tiscali UK Ltd  Telehouse DNS Network 
  descr:          ========================================================== 
  descr:          Concerning abuse and spam ... mailto: abuse@uk.tiscali.com
 
  descr:          e-mail to other addresses will not be dealt with. 
  descr:          ========================================================== 
  country:        GB 
  admin-c:         TU935-RIPE 
  tech-c:          TU935-RIPE 
  status:         ASSIGNED PA 
  mnt-by:          TU935-RIPE-MNT 
  mnt-lower:       TU935-RIPE-MNT 
  mnt-routes:      TU935-RIPE-MNT 
  remarks:        INFRA-AW 
  source:         RIPE  Filtered 
  role:           Tiscali UK 
  address:        Tiscali UK Limited 
  address:        20 Broadwick Street 
  address:        London W1F 8HT 
  phone:          +44 207 087 2000 
  remarks:        Information: http://www.tiscali.com 
  org:             ORG-TUL3-RIPE 
  admin-c:         DC-RIPE 
  admin-c:         DG9105-RIPE 
  admin-c:         GD9105-RIPE 
  tech-c:          DC-RIPE 
  nic-hdl:         TU935-RIPE 
  remarks:        Hostmaster Role Account 
  mnt-by:          TU935-RIPE-MNT 
  source:         RIPE  Filtered 
  abuse-mailbox:  abuse@uk.tiscali.com
 
  route:        212.139.0.0/16 
  descr:        Tiscali UK Limited 
  origin:       AS9105 
  mnt-by:        TU935-RIPE-MNT 
  source:       RIPE  Filtered
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2007, 06:00 PM
gordo gordo is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 662
some ISP's will scan their ip's to see if they are active.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-20-2007, 07:32 PM
Ezekiel's Avatar
Ezekiel Ezekiel is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordo View Post
some ISP's will scan their ip's to see if they are active.
I don't know what you mean by that; if you mean they port-scan to see if a particular IP address is in-use, they don't, because as soon as you connect to their service it's all logged on their systems for usage analysis and other means of spying on you. They know everything about their network; times of connection, times of disconnection and so on.

If you mean they port-scan IP addresses to detect users hosting services from their boxes (against some terms of service of ISPs), I wouldn't doubt them doing this, but the bandwidth might be a problem for them. Most likely they would just block popular service ports (e.g. 80) to impose their 'unlimited' service rules on you; their definition of unlimited being you don't use your connection for anything other than passive Internet-use such as browsing, don't download at full speeds for longer than one minute, you don't upload at all apart from to request web pages (their crappy upload speeds take care of this), don't use BitTorrent at all, don't host anything, pretty much don't do anything interesting on the net apart from browse generic mainstream news sites, because to them unlimited is a marketing term. To them, all users downloading at max speeds 24/7 would cripple their network, because it was built under the assumption that only 1 in 10 users would actually be doing anything at any given time.

Last edited by Ezekiel; 04-20-2007 at 07:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-20-2007, 09:29 PM
gordo gordo is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 662
Hi Mike, you are correct, sometimes it is forbidden under the conditions of your account to have *any* kind of server online. So each user is routinely scanned for ports like HTTP,
SMTP etc. After they discover an active server on your machine, you get
nasty mail.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.